A majority of Catalans have repeatedly expressed in different ways the wish to exercise their democratic right to vote on their political future.

This strong demand to vote is the result of longstanding dissension between the governments of Catalonia and Spain over the degree of cultural, political, and financial autonomy that Catalans should enjoy, despite several attempts to reach an acceptable solution.

As the precedents in Quebec and Scotland show, the best way to solve legitimate internal disputes is to employ the tools of democracy.

To prevent the Catalans from voting seems to contradict the principles that inspire democratic societies.

Accordingly, we call on the Spanish government and institutions and their Catalan counterparts to work together to allow the citizens of Catalonia to vote on their political future and then negotiate in good faith based on the result.


Jody Williams

Jody Williams,
American political activist for Human Rights, coordinator of the International Campaign to Ban Landmines, Peace Nobel Prize

Yoko Ono Lennon

Yoko Ono Lennon,
Japanese artist, singer and peace activist

Hristo Stoitxkov

Hristo Stoitxkov,
Former Bulgarian soccer player

Peter Gabriel

Peter Gabriel,
English singer-songwriter, record producer and humanitarian

Éric Cantona

Éric Cantona,
Former French soccer player and actor

Peter Jambrek

Peter Jambrek,
Sociologist, jurist and politician, father of the Constitution of Slovenia

Silvio Rodríguez Domínguez

Silvio Rodríguez Domínguez,
musician of the Nueva Trova Cubana

Heiner Flassbeck

Heiner Flassbeck,
Former Secretary of State of the German Ministry of Finance and Head of UNCTAD (United Nations Conference on Trade and Development) from 2003 to 2012.

Costas Lapavitsas

Costas Lapavitsas,
Former Deputy of Syriza and Professor of Economics at the University of London (School of Oriental and African Studies)

Rigoberta Menchú

Rigoberta Menchú,
leader Maya K’iche in Guatemala, UNESCO Goodwill ambassador and winner of the Nobel Peace Prize

Ahmed Galai

Ahmed Galai,
member of the Tunisian League for Human Rights, which is part of the National Quartet Dialogue, winner of the Nobel Peace Prize 2015

Mirta Baravalle

Mirta Baravalle,
Argentinian activist, co-founder and president of Madres de la Plaza de Mayo

Gerry Adams

Gerry Adams,
Irish politician, Sinn Féin president

Angela Davis

Angela Davis,
African-American activist and philosopher, professor at California-Santa Cruz University, USA

Jason Y.Ng

Jason Y.Ng,
member and reporter of the pro-democracy political movement in Hong Kong "Umbrella Revolution", president of the Hong Kong PEN Club

Piedad Córdoba

Piedad Córdoba,
lawyer and politician, mediator of the humanitarian agreement between FARC and Colombia’s government, leader of Colombians for Peace

José Bové

José Bové,
activist of alter-globalization movement and French syndicalist, MEP for the European Greens

Irvine Welsh

Irvine Welsh,
Scottish writer

Tsering Woeser

Tsering Woeser,
Tibetan writer and poet

José Shulman

José Shulman,
Argentinian writer and national secretary of the Argentinian Human Rights League

Hélder Mateus da Costa

Hélder Mateus da Costa,
Portuguese playwright theatre and writer

Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht

Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht,
German intellectual, Comparative Literature professor at Stanford University

Viggo Mortensen

Viggo Mortensen,
american actor

Joan Baez

Joan Baez,
American singer and musician, and activist for the civil rights


Desmond Tutu

Desmond Tutu,
South African archbishop and winner of the Nobel Peace Prize

Adolfo Pérez Esquivel

Adolfo Pérez Esquivel,
Argentinean pacifist and winner of the Nobel Peace Prize

Dario Fo

Dario Fo,
Italian dramatist and winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature (1926-2016)

Zygmunt Bauman

Zygmunt Bauman,
Polish sociologist (Leeds) (1925-2017)

Noam Chomsky

Noam Chomsky,
American linguist (MIT)

Saskia Sassen

Saskia Sassen,
Dutch sociologist (Columbia)

Richard Sennett

Richard Sennett,
American thinker (NYU)

Harold Bloom

Harold Bloom,
American literary critic (Yale)

Paul Preston

Paul Preston,
English historian and Hispanist (LSE)

António Lobo Antunes

António Lobo Antunes,
Portuguese writer

Ignacio Ramonet

Ignacio Ramonet,
journalist and former Director of Le Monde Diplomatique

Johan Cruyff

Johan Cruyff,
former Dutch footballer (1947-2016)

Ronald Kasrils

Ronald Kasrils,
South African writer, former anti-apartheid activist and minister

Wu'er Kaixi

Wu'er Kaixi,
Chinese dissident, a leader of the student protests in Tiananmen

Hu Jia

Hu Jia,
winner of the European Parliament Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought

Tariq Ali

Tariq Ali,
Pakistani writer and activist

Ambler Moss

Ambler Moss,
former US ambassador

Andrea Camilleri

Andrea Camilleri,
Italian theatre director and writer

Colm Tóibín

Colm Tóibín,
Irish writer

Bill Shipsey

Bill Shipsey,
founder of Art for Amnesty International

Peter Sís

Peter Sís,
American writer and illustrator, winner of the Hans Christian Andersen Award

Bořek Šípek

Bořek Šípek,
Czech architect (1949-2016)

Saúl Hernández

Saúl Hernández,
Mexican rock star

Pēteris Vasks

Pēteris Vasks,
Latvian new age composer

Mārtiņš Brauns

Mārtiņš Brauns,
Latvian composer, author of the anthem of the Baltic Way

Ken Loach

Ken Loach,
English film maker